Mint engravers working on Delaware quarters, other states at work

by Michele Orzano, Coin World Staff

U.S. Mint engravers have begun working on design concepts from Delaware, the first of five states participating in the 50 state circulating commemorative quarter dollar program.

Because Delaware was the first state to ratify the U.S. Constitution in 1787, the Treasury set a March 2 deadline for submission of its design concepts. Delaware commemorative coins are scheduled to be struck in September with release in January 1999.

Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia and Connecticut had until March 13 to submit their design concepts. All five states which were admitted to the union between December 1787 and January 1788 will have their respective coins issued during 1999.